PresbyMEME


One of the candidates sitting for moderator of the 218th General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church (USA) this summer in San Jose, Bruce Reyes Chow, started this MEME. Since I am new to the blogging this whole concept is new to me but here goes.

1. What is your earliest memory of being distinctly Presbyterian?
I knew I was distinctly Presbyterian after attending the 217th General Assembly serving as a Theological Student Volunteer. This is good news because I have had the Presbyterian symbol tattooed on my left shoulder blade since 2003.

2. On what issue/question should the PC(USA) spend LESS energy and time?
I think we, in the PC(USA) and the world, should spend less time on trying to be right. Spend less time on those things that divide us because I believe we have much more in common that different.

3. On what issue/question should the PC(USA) spend MORE energy and time?
We should spend more time on reconciliation. Spend time working, praying, worshiping together. I believe the PUP was right we need to discern where God is leading us, together.

4. If you could have the PC(USA) focus on one passage of scripture for a entire year, what would it be?
The genealogy of Matthew (Matthew 1:1-17). I think that scripture is a microcosm of how severely flawed people are used by God to make up at least half of the DNA of Christ. (Unless, you believe Joseph didn’t contribute…see look at all the questions you get from the begets)

5. If the PC(USA) were an animal what would it be and why?
My dog, Hannah, she is fiercely, will follow me anywhere, (even going as far as to “protect” me from a passing minivan and breaking her leg), but at the same time does not do well when there is a change in her routine. She will stop eating and generally be really needy.

Extra Credit: If Jesus showed up to General Assembly this year, what does he say to the Presbyterian Church (USA)?

“Relax!!! I’m here. Let’s get to work.”

I am not sure if I know 5 Presbyterian bloggers or at least five that haven’t already submitted but here goes: Decent Hills and Orderly Hollows, Nate Bettger, Central Oregon Emergent Cohort (which is really several bloggers), Darren King, and Bob Pearson.

Greg Bolt

Leave a Reply

