Discernment is an Interesting Word


We talk a lot about discernment at my church. We talk a lot about discerning the will of God in the Presbyterian Church. I wholeheartedly believe in some of the discernment processes that have been used by some of our task forces to wrestle with difficult and seemingly divisive issues.

Discernment, too me, is still kind of an abstract concept. I have seen it work, I have felt it work, but sometimes I still don’t know if I or my community is discerning or doing something else entirely counter to the will of God. Musings about following the will of God could go on forever, so I won’t bore you with them, but I came across a quote about discernment and I thought I would share it with you.

“In emerging Christianity, discernment is the spiritual process through which metanoia, being “born again” in God’s truth, beauty, and love, occurs. Thus, discernment point the way, guides the way, and becomes the way–the way that begins with God-questions, the winds through wisdom, and ends in the healing of the world. This is what Jesus meant when he said, “I am the Way.””–Diana Butler Bass from “Christianity for the Rest of Us” (pg. 97)

Let me know what you think.

Blessings,
Greg

Leave a Reply

