Lenten Devotional: If Not For God’s Love by Richard Richardson


Over this Lenten season, the Spiritual Formation team at First Presbyterian Church in Bend put a call out to all to submit writings for a Lenten Devotional. I will do my best to post those here daily. You can also go to our website and access all of the devotions on a pdf file.

Here is the third submission:

If Not For God’s Love

If not for God’s love
I’d have no chance at all.
But I do because
God hears me when I call.
And picks me up when I fall.

This peace I know
Isn’t just some pleasant bliss.
What I do and where I go
Isn’t fate or randomness.
Only God gives peace like this.

My life is in God’s hands.
My shriveled, shrunken, soul…
My spirit… all I am
Belongs to God alone.
God’s grace will lead me home.

–Richard Richardson

One thought on “Lenten Devotional: If Not For God’s Love by Richard Richardson

  1. Thank you, Greg, for posting the Lenten Devotionals in this manner. I had thought of sending out daily emails, but this is much better! I’ll be steering our writers and readers this way —^ Blessings,B.

Leave a Reply

