Lenten Devotional: Planting Seeds of Unconditional Love by David Burns


Over this Lenten season, the Spiritual Formation team at First Presbyterian Church in Bend put a call out to all to submit writings for a Lenten Devotional. I will do my best to post those here daily. You can also go to our website and access all of the devotions on a pdf file.

Here is the sixth submission:

Planting Seeds of Unconditional Love

Matthew 13:8,9 Still other seed fell on good soil, where it produced a crop—a hundred, sixty or thirty times what was sown. He who has ears, let him hear.

____________________________________________________________________
My sister was a few years older than I and had a much better head on her shoulders. Growing up in a violent, alcoholic home, somehow she instinctively knew her scrappy little brother needed to hear the story of our Lord Jesus and His message of unconditional love.

Our family had recently moved from Oregon when I was 6 or 7 to Minnesota where my maternal grandfather lived. However, Dad couldn’t find work there and we ended up living in a rundown hotel in Fargo, North Dakota.

Around the corner, and down the street a ways, toward the muddy Red River dividing North Dakota and Minnesota, in a rough part of town, some Christians ran a little Sunday School in the basement of an old brick building. My sister, Darlene, God bless her, dragged me there a few times to meet Jesus. I can’t actually recall much detail of those early encounters, not many specifics stuck in my little brain, but if we were good and attentive we received a handful of peanuts as we left. And wherever there was free food in those days, I was your guy. Guess I haven’t changed all that much.

Eventually, decades later, the seeds of Jesus’ story blossomed in my brain and heart, and I’ll never forget the story of His unconditoinal love and His journey to the cross for my sake.

Prayer: May we all scatter seeds of the love of Jesus as we travel through this earthly life. And please, God, bless those who planted seeds in our own lives that we may reap His Mighty Love. Amen.

–David Burns

Leave a Reply

