Lenten Devotional: Contemplative Statement by Carole Nuckton


Over this Lenten season, the Spiritual Formation team at First Presbyterian Church in Bend put a call out to all to submit writings for a Lenten Devotional. I will do my best to post those here daily. You can also go to our website and access all of the devotions on a pdf file.

Here is the next submission:

Contemplative Statement

I’ve come a long way from what I learned about God and Jesus at Presbyterian Sunday School as a kid. Now, because what I believe has to make sense to me, I know that if it weren’t for what John A.T. Robinson had to say in the 1950s, and what Bishop John Shelby Spong, Marcus borg, and a few others had to say in the past few years, I wouldn’t be a Christian today. Oh, I’d probably be a good person doing things for others as an humanitarian. If I am to believe that “The Great Other” is real, and I do like to think so, I really “dig” Spong’s mantra that follows:

I can’t tell you who God is. No human can tell you who God is. I can only tell you about God as I experience God. That’s all anybody can do:

  • I experience God as the source of life. So God becomes visible when I try to live fully.

  • I experience God as the source of love. So God becomes visible when I try to love fully.

  • I experience God as the Ground of Being. So God becomes visible when I try to be all that I can be.

I am still a Christian (though that’s such a loaded word). I love what Spong wrote:

“What is it about this Jesus that caused people to say that a star shown over the place where he was born?”

So, as a Christian, I try to experience God through Jesus Christ. Following Spong again, I try to see in Jesus a life so fully lived, a love given wastefully away, and a person who was always being all that he could be.

–Carole Nuckton

Leave a Reply

