Lenten Devotional: Thomas: An Easter Victim by Bill Dittler


Over this Lenten season, the Spiritual Formation team at First Presbyterian Church in Bend put a call out to all to submit writings for a Lenten Devotional. I will do my best to post those here daily. You can also go to our website and access all of the devotions on a pdf file.

Here is the next submission:

THOMAS: AN EASTER VICTIM

Thomas, that is my name.

The one of whom they say,

Doubting, that is his game.

Missing when Easter came

Was not really my way.

Thomas, that is my name.

I lived as one too tame.

For the number on me lay,

Doubting that is his game.

There came a certain fame,

A price I had to pay;

Thomas, that is my name.

Trying to appear the same,

Given the mark each day,

Doubting, that is my game.

Faith, that has been the aim

Though they will still say,

Doubting, that is my game.

Thomas, that is my name.

–Bill Dittler

Leave a Reply

