Thoughts on Los Angeles


I must admit, I was a little apprehensive about the Urban Immersion trip. I knew almost no one, and those people I did know I had only met once or twice. Things changed, however, when I spent 14 hours with thirty-some different teens on the drive down to L.A. 

I have made friendships that I know I will keep for a long time. But beyond that, I did service work that changed the way I view mankind. That sounds monumental, and a little cliche, but its true. Both the direct and indirect service we did was eye-opening. I realized how lucky most of us are. 

The most important thing I learned, though, was that often times prejudices are forced on us by our society, religion, government, race, or our ignorance. The steps that we took on our trip to really immerse ourselves in other cultures were life-changing. I wish that everyone in the world could try doing it for a week. I have always thought of myself as an open-minded person, and I still learned so much about things I thought I knew all about. 

Besides learning about things globally impacting us, we learned about ourselves. We shared stories, and music, and little pieces of who we are. Actually, I learned so much this trip, it was like going to school–a really fun, diverse, culturally literate school where you get to do cool things like go to Dodgers games and ride awesome roller coasters.

I can honestly say I will remember everything about this trip, from sorting food at the food bank to seeing Jake Gyllenhall. It was a once-in-a-lifetime trip, and I am so glad I got to be a part of it.

By:

265530_114286031995019_1000024

Jazzi Wright

Leave a Reply

