Healing Strides Team 2011


In 2010 my grandmother Julia Sparks died after a long battle with Alzheimer’s. In honor of her, I have set out to run races and raise $10,000 for the Alzheimer’s Association of Oregon. I want 2011 to be a ―Year of Memories.

Here is the plan in a nutshell: Run a 5K in March (Lucky Clover 5K in Eugene, March 19), a 10K in May (Solaire Salmon Run, May 7), a half marathon in July (Smith Rock Sunrise Summer Classic, July 9) and a marathon in October (Portland Marathon, October 9).
So far, I have completed the Lucky Clover 5K in Eugene, the Solaire Salmon Run Bend (10K) and the Smith Rock Sunrise Classic in Terrebonne (Half Marathon). We have also raised just over $1,500!

Now starts the big push to the finish. In the next 12 weeks I, and whoever would like to join me, will be training for the Portland Marathon to be run on October 9.

I have set up a page on the Alzheimer’s Association website so that people can donate online. There will also be donation forms in the Commons Area for other donations. I have also set up a blog (yearofmemories.wordpress.com) and a twitter page (www.twitter.com/yearofmemories) so that you can follow along on our progress.

What I need from you? I need your legs, your energy, your expertise and your support. I have run all the distances except a marathon (I walked the Portland in 2009). My hope is that we will be able to get together for some training runs and maybe even get a ―team shirt to wear while we run the races to bring awareness to our cause.

I hope you will consider participating in the Year of Memories and we can create some great memories of our own and raise money to allow others to help cure the horrible disease of Alzheimer’s.

Thanks,

Greg

Leave a Reply

